NetApp
Storage Virtual Machine : Managing SVMs : Deleting SVMs

Deleting SVMs
You can delete Storage Virtual Machines (SVMs) that you no longer require from the storage system configuration.
Before you begin 
You must have completed the following tasks:
1.
Note: You must use the CLI to disable LS mirrors.
2.
Deleted all the igroups that belong to the SVM manually if you are deleting SVMs with FlexVol volume
3.
4.
Deleted all the volumes in the SVM, including the root volume
5.
6.
7.
8.
About this task 
When you delete SVMs, the following objects associated with the SVM are also deleted:
•
•
•
If you delete SVMs that are configured to use Kerberos, or modify SVMs to use a different Service Principal Name (SPN), the original service principal of the SVM is not automatically deleted or disabled from the Kerberos realm. You must manually delete or disable the principal. You must have the Kerberos realm administrator's user name and password to delete or disable the principal.
If you want to move data from an SVM to another SVM before you delete the first SVM, you can use the SnapMirror technology.
Steps 
1.
From the home page, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
Expand the Storage Virtual Machines hierarchy in the left navigation pane.
3.
In the navigation pane, select the appropriate cluster.
4.
Select the SVM that you want to delete and click Delete.
5.
After you finish 
After you delete the SVM, you should reenable the Snapshot copies, and DP and LS mirrors for all the volumes.
Parent Topic: What SVMs are


Was this topic helpful? Send comments to NetApp.